Kansas City Attorneys for Minimum Wage Violations and Improper Pay Deductions

State and federal laws require employers to pay their employees a minimum wage. Specifically, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”) provides that the federal minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. The Missouri Minimum Wage law requires that employers pay their employees a minimum wage of $8.60 per hour. If your employer fails to pay you the mandated minimum wage, you may be eligible to take legal action.

Employers may make deductions from non-exempt employees’ pay. However, in making those deductions, the employee’s rate of pay must not fall below minimum wage. Put simply, if your employer is deducting your pay enough to decrease your hourly rate below $7.25 per hour, your employer may have violated the FLSA.

Moreover, may state laws, including Kansas, also prohibit employers from making deductions that do not “accrue to the benefit of the employee.” Typically, cash shortages, processing fees, breakage charges, and other types of deductions are prohibited under Kansas law. This is in addition to the protections offered by the FLSA, which prohibit certain kinds of deductions, described above.

Contact a Knowledgeable Kansas City Employment Lawyer

If you are facing a wage violation issue, it’s best to have a skilled employment law attorney by your side who can explain your legal rights and options. Contact the employment lawyers at Brady & Associates for a confidential evaluation of your case. Call (913) 696-0925 or complete our online information form. Based in Leawood near Kansas City, we represent employees in Kansas, Missouri, and beyond.